Afterdoodle

Here’s my entry for this week’s Diva Challenge featuring ledezner’s  tuxedo tangle. This pattern really made my noggin hurt as I tried to use it. Sadly, when it comes to intricate patterns like this one, I want to make it perfect, and then bounce around with it, but most of my attempts at doing this tangle just crapped out, or when I was done with the framework of the pattern, I was afraid to embellish it, because I didn’t want to ruin it. 

I went with a simple flourish of the two dot pattern in the circles and nothing in the diamonds. A really creative string created an opportunity to play with vortex and stircles tangles that I’ve wanted to use for some time. I really enjoyed the shading that occured in the vortex, and then I had a blast with the side.

This has been a slammed week for me, and I didn’t get much accomplished in my sketch book. However, I consciously sat down to do this drawing as a meditative practice and, wow, I feel much more relaxed that I was earlier today. Furthermore, I saw one of the “Hansian” structures, as I’ve started to call them, appear on my page again! I haven’t drawn one in a while and I’m looking forward to the next time one of late friend’s doodle styles makes a cameo in my pieces.

20130403-175433.jpgAnyway, thanks for checking out the site!

RawR!
-The Mannimal

 

10 thoughts on “Afterdoodle

  1. I get such a kick out of reading how we put ourselves down because we don’t do something “PERFECT” like the one we were using as a guide. I think this tile sparkles, and I like the tangles you used to complement tuxedo. Great work! Your name is pretty new to me, so I hope I’ll see more of your art in the future.

Leave a Reply

