Quadrachromatic Monotangle!

So here’s my Diva Challenge entry!

This is one of my favorite tangle patterns. I found it early and employ it regularly in my designs. I have a feeling it is because of my respect for its inspiration. I love Mucha’s style and my life has been spent with tons if his work around me. Only thing missing from my success

I had a great time drawing this last night and and this morning as I woke up, I didn’t like it at all. No shading at all can make this pattern too much in distinguishable lines for the eyes. Once I added a bit of lead to it for shading, it looked great, but the lack of variance in shape and pattern required I take another element of art into account. Adding color yielded great results.

20130326-125453.jpg

This isn’t the first time I’ve mono tangled with Mooka. Here is my first polished Monotangle of Mooka. Probably won’t be my last.

20130326-125851.jpg

20130326-130022.jpg

Here’s a study of the pattern on a notecard:

20130326-130250.jpg
And it turned into this:
20130329-115656.jpg

Cheers!

The Mannimal

12 thoughts on “Quadrachromatic Monotangle!

  1. I like the squiggliness… I get caught up in the beautiful smooth arching curves that usually come with Mooka, but the squiggly shapes work quite well! Totally different look. That second one reminds me a lot of early spring flowers, tulips, daffodils etc. Great work.

Leave a Reply

